11 Comments
author

I'm at my brother's house and I found in his fridge some puff pastry, little gem lettuce and some soft goat's cheese that needs to be used up. 

Braised lettuce and goat cheese tartlets

Heat a frying pan on a high heat with a little oil.

Slice the little gems into quarters lengthways and fry on each side for a few minutes until browned.

Pour in some water - about 1/2 an inch - and put a lid on.

Simmer on a medium heat for 5 minutes.

Take out the lettuce leaving as much water as possible in the pan.

Remove the stalk and chop into bitesize pieces. Stick in a mixing bowl with some chunks of goats cheese, salt, pepper and a grating of lemon zest.

Cut the puff pastry into rectangles approximately 6x4 inches in size. Arrange on a baking tray. Put a few spoonfuls of the lettuce mixture on top and spread to the sides, leaving a little edge of around 1/4 inch.

Top with chopped almonds and put in a 180C / 350F oven for 20-25 minutes or until the pastry has puffed and is golden.

Expand full comment
Jan 5, 2023Liked by Charlie Brown

I'm so glad I asked! I can't wait to try it. Thanks Charlie!!!

Expand full comment

celery root

Expand full comment

Hi! How about diced raw butternut squash, hummus, and fresh cranberries?

Expand full comment

Fun! I've got 3oz dried beef, left over potato wedges, and shredded parmesan cheese

Expand full comment