Playlists

I want Simple and Straightforward to be an all-purpose publication - one that deals with many facets of life.

And that includes music.

Welcome to Simple and Straightforward playlists, especially for paid subscribers.

Curated lists to help you not just get through your day but enjoy your day. Or even slay your day.

Because that’s what good music can do.

I’ve been thinking long and hard about how to link music with simple living, and that has inspired some of the playlists here, including:

  • Flow state playlists, to help you be productive and therefore have more time on your hands.

  • A running / workout playlist - because simple living and health go hand in hand.

But I wanted to have some fun with it too. So you’ll also find some playlists that I’ve curated just because. That includes 80s and 90s R&B (my era in a nutshell) and even the definitive Eurovision playlist because I am a superfan and I think you should be too.

I plan to add more playlists - and songs to existing playlists - as time goes on. This is a moveable feast, an ever-evolving project that I hope you’ll enjoy as much as I did putting the playlists together.

Enjoy, y’all.


Upbeat flow state

I’m not a binaural beats person so you won’t find any of that in this playlist. Expect something a little more upbeat but still perfect for when you need to focus.

LISTEN NOW ▽


Techno-Trance flow state

I came of age in the early noughties so trance and techno is my jam. Great for when you need to get shit DONE.

LISTEN NOW ▽


Workout

I ran to this playlist yesterday so I know first hand - it’s hella motivating.

LISTEN NOW ▽


80s & 90s R&B

I mean, it’s all vibes in here right now.

LISTEN NOW ▽


90s bangers

90s tunes that you may have forgotten about (but I never did).

LISTEN NOW ▽


Definitive Eurovision

Eurovision isn’t what it once was. If you think it’s full of rubbish - or you’ve not listened to much of it before - wrap your ears around this. And remember - Eurovision 2023 starts Tuesday 9th May.

LISTEN NOW ▽